Back to All Events

Virtual Book Club - The Chilbury Ladies' Choir by Jennifer Ryan

Join us for October's Virtual Book Club discussing The Chilbury Ladies' Choir by Jennifer Ryan. You are welcome to join even if you haven't finished the book. Come even if you don't know what to say, we are a casual and friendly group!

the chilbury ladies choir by jennifer ryan.jpg
The Chilbury Ladies' Choir: A Novel
$12.34
By Jennifer Ryan

About the book: For readers of Lilac Girls and The NightingaleThe Chilbury Ladies' Choir unfolds the struggles, affairs, deceptions, and triumphs of a village choir during World War II.

As England becomes enmeshed in the early days of World War II and the men are away fighting, the women of Chilbury village forge an uncommon bond. They defy the Vicar’s stuffy edict to close the choir and instead “carry on singing,” resurrecting themselves as the Chilbury Ladies’ Choir. We come to know the home-front struggles of five unforgettable choir members: a timid widow devastated when her only son goes to fight; the older daughter of a local scion drawn to a mysterious artist; her younger sister pining over an impossible crush; a Jewish refugee from Czechoslovakia hiding a family secret; and a conniving midwife plotting to outrun her seedy past. 
 
An enchanting ensemble story that shuttles from village intrigue to romance to the heartbreaking matters of life and death, Jennifer Ryan’s debut novel thrillingly illuminates the true strength of the women on the home front in a village of indomitable spirit.

How to join the meeting:

Ashley Hasty is inviting you to a scheduled Zoom@IU meeting. 

Topic: Virtual Book Club - The Chilbury Ladies' Choir by Jennifer Ryan
Time: Oct 25, 2017 7:00 PM Central Standard Time (US and Canada) 

Join from PC, Mac, Linux, iOS or Android: https://iu.zoom.us/j/751994406

Or Telephone:
    Dial: +1 646 558 8656 (US Toll) or +1 669 900 6833 (US Toll)
    Meeting ID: 751 994 406
    International numbers available: https://iu.zoom.us/zoomconference?m=AReqqxYyaIyTn7-joLuqtviOXfI_nLrm