Hi.

Welcome to Hasty Book List, where I document and review the books I read. Hope you have a nice stay!

5 Books to Read on Vacation

5 Books to Read on Vacation

5 Books to Read on Vacation

Memorial Day weekend, in addition to setting aside time to remember those who have sacrificed their lives for our freedom, also signifies the beginning of summer vacation. Vacation reads are often pigeonholed into being chick lit, but this list has a little something for everyone! Check out these 5 books for your next vacation:

1 - The Overdue Life of Amy Byler by Kelly Harms

5 Books to Read on Vacation

5 Books to Read on Vacation

From the publisher:

Overworked and underappreciated, single mom Amy Byler needs a break. So when the guilt-ridden husband who abandoned her shows up and offers to take care of their kids for the summer, she accepts his offer and escapes rural Pennsylvania for New York City.

Usually grounded and mild mannered, Amy finally lets her hair down in the city that never sleeps. She discovers a life filled with culture, sophistication, and—with a little encouragement from her friends—a few blind dates. When one man in particular makes quick work of Amy’s heart, she risks losing herself completely in the unexpected escape, and as the summer comes to an end, Amy realizes too late that she must make an impossible decision: stay in this exciting new chapter of her life, or return to the life she left behind.

But before she can choose, a crisis forces the two worlds together, and Amy must stare down a future where she could lose both sides of herself, and every dream she’s ever nurtured, in the beat of a heart.

2 - Malibu Bluff by Janna King

5 Books to Read on Vacation

5 Books to Read on Vacation

From the publisher:

Malibu is the perfect playground for a new crew of seasonaires in the thrilling follow-up to last summer's must-read debut.

Every summer is curated as a dream for six twenty-something seasonaires handpicked by Lydon Wyld, the chic founder of her namesake clothing line.  This summer takes these influential brand ambassadors to the West Coast.  Mia, a resourceful young designer, is chosen to lead the pack―roped back into a second season by a deal she can't refuse, and the hope to leave behind her grief over her mother's death for the California sun.

Mia is thankful that she won't have to live with Presley, a former seasonaire who is now handling Lyndon Wyld's public relations after making a meal out of the tragedy that struck in Nantucket the summer before.

In Malibu, she will share a stunning modern manse with Eve, an outspoken activist; Alex, a gorgeous boundary pusher; Chase, a warm-hearted surfer; Oliver, a preppy charmer; and enigmatic Brandon, the son of Lyndon's business partner. Brandon is also the producer of the brand's new digital channel, which will up the stakes for the seasonaire's exposure. 

Their antics are juicy entertainment for their throngs of fans and followers.  But trouble from Mia's past comes back to haunt her, threatening not just her future, but the fate of the other seasonaires.  And when the line between what's real and what's staged gets blurred, the results could be deadly. 

3 - The Song of the Jade Lily by Kirsty Manning

5 Books to Read on Vacation

5 Books to Read on Vacation

From the publisher:

A gripping historical novel that tells the little-known story of Jewish refugees who fled to Shanghai during WWII.

1939: Two young girls meet in Shanghai, also known as the “Paris of the East”. Beautiful local Li and Jewish refugee Romy form a fierce friendship, but the deepening shadows of World War II fall over the women as they slip between the city's glamorous French Concession district and the teeming streets of the Shanghai Ghetto. Yet soon the realities of war prove to be too much for these close friends as they are torn apart.

2016: Fleeing London with a broken heart, Alexandra returns to Australia to be with her grandparents, Romy and Wilhelm. Her grandfather is dying, and over the coming weeks Romy and Wilhelm begin to reveal the family mysteries they have kept secret for more than half a century. As fragments of her mother's history finally become clear, Alexandra struggles with what she learns while more is also revealed about her grandmother's own past in Shanghai.

After Wilhelm dies, Alexandra flies to Shanghai, determined to trace her grandparents' past. Peeling back the layers of their hidden lives, she is forced to question what she knows about her family—and herself. 

4 - Pride, Prejudice and Other Flavors by Sonali Dev

5 Books to Read on Vacation

5 Books to Read on Vacation

From the publisher:

It is a truth universally acknowledged that only in an overachieving Indian American family can a genius daughter be considered a black sheep.

Dr. Trisha Raje is San Francisco’s most acclaimed neurosurgeon. But that’s not enough for the Rajes, her influential immigrant family who’s achieved power by making its own non-negotiable rules:

·       Never trust an outsider

·       Never do anything to jeopardize your brother’s political aspirations

·       And never, ever, defy your family

Trisha is guilty of breaking all three rules. But now she has a chance to redeem herself. So long as she doesn’t repeat old mistakes.

Up-and-coming chef DJ Caine has known people like Trisha before, people who judge him by his rough beginnings and place pedigree above character. He needs the lucrative job the Rajes offer, but he values his pride too much to indulge Trisha’s arrogance. And then he discovers that she’s the only surgeon who can save his sister’s life.

As the two clash, their assumptions crumble like the spun sugar on one of DJ’s stunning desserts. But before a future can be savored there’s a past to be reckoned with...

A family trying to build home in a new land.

A man who has never felt at home anywhere.

And a choice to be made between the two.

5 - The Wonder of Lost Causes by Nick Trout

5 Books to Read on Vacation

5 Books to Read on Vacation

From the publisher:

In this unforgettable novel, perfect for fans of An Unexpected Grace and A Dog’s Way Home, a single mom and her chronically ill child receive a valuable lesson from an unlikely source—a very special dog who unexpectedly enters their lives and shows them that one person’s lost cause can be another’s greatest gift . . .Dr. Kate Blunt will do anything for her son, Jasper. Well, almost anything. Since Jasper has the incurable lung disease cystic fibrosis, Kate’s always told him he couldn’t get a dog. It’s a tough call, but she’s a single mom taking care of a kid who fights for every breath he takes. The daily medical routine that keeps Jasper alive is complicated enough. Worse still, Kate’s personal resolve runs contrary to her work as the veterinarian in charge of a Cape Cod animal shelter, where she is on a mission to find forever homes for dogs in desperate need.

The scarred, mistreated wreck of a dog that turns up doesn’t stand a chance. Named Whistler, he’s too old, too ugly. But the dog forms an instantaneous bond with Jasper. Whistler never makes a sound, yet he speaks to Jasper in a myriad of mysterious ways. The clock’s ticking, the dog’s future hangs in the balance, and Jasper would do anything to find him a home; but Whistler has chosen them—for a reason.

This post contains affiliate links, which means I receive compensation if you make a purchase using this link. Thank you for supporting this blog and the books I recommend! I may have received a book for free in exchange for my honest review. All opinions are my own.
The Beautiful Strangers

The Beautiful Strangers

Wendy Wax

Wendy Wax

0